• Osun Model School

  • Osun Commercial Area

Office Of The Chief Judge

justice_ojoThe Office of the Chief Judge of a state is provided for in the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. The appointment to the Office of the Chief Judge of a State is made by the Governor of the State on the recommendation of the National Judicial Council subject to confirmation of the appointment by the House of Assembly of the state. The Chief Judge of a state is usually the most senior judge in the state judicial system. The Chief Judge is the judicial and administrative head of the judicial arm of the state.

The present Chief Judge of the State of Osun is Hon. Justice Oyebola Adepele Ojo. She is to play the role of both the head of the judicial arm of the State and administrative head of the State High court.

Justice Oyebola Adepele Ojo is the most senior Judge of the Osun State High Court. She became a Judge of the High Court on December 21, 2000 and became the President of the Customary Court of Appeal in July, 2010.

Honourable Justice Oyebola Adepele Ojo was born on 13th October, 1958. She is from Ede Town, in Ede South Local Government Area of the State of Osun. She attended Premier Grammar School, Abeokuta (1971-1976) where she obtained her West African School Certificate(WAEC), United Missionary College(Teacher’s Training College), Molete, Ibadan from 1977-1978 where she obtained Grade II Teacher’s Certificate. She attended The Polytechnic Ibadan, (1978-1980) where she obtained Higher School Certificate (HSC). Justice Oyebola Ojo studied law at the University of Lagos, Akoko from 1980-1984 where she was awarded the Bachelor of Law degree (L.LB. Hons). She was called to the Nigerian Bar in 1985 and enrolled as a Solicitor and Advocate of the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

Hon. Justice Oyebola Ojo went into full legal practice after her National Youth Service Corp (NYSC) practicing in Law Firms of Galadima, Hussani & Co, (1986-1988) S.O Obande & Co,(1989-1990), Bola Ojo & Co (1991-1993) and Tunji Abolade & Co (1994-2000). In December 2000, she joined the public service and was appointed as a High Court Judge in State of Osun

She has presided over at various times as Presiding Judge in the State judicial divisions namely, Ife, Ejigbo, Ikire, Iwo, and Ilesa Divisions, presiding over cases, supervising of Magistrate Courts within the division and administrative supervision of the High Court and Magistrate Courts Registries. She has also been on national assignments; These  includes, member of National Assembly/ Governorship and Legislative Houses Election Tribunal in Nassarawa State and FCT Abuja, in 2003 and 2007 respectively. She was also a Member of National and State Houses of Assembly Election Tribunal in Bauchi State in 2011.

She has attended various seminars and refresher courses in the judicial circle. She was sworn-in as Acting Chief Judge of the State on March 5th 2013 and became Chief Judge on 17th June, 2013.

PHP Code Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com