Osun, Bayelsa, Yobe Win Taekwondo Event

Date Posted: December 13, 2013 at 7:57 am

A total of 104 athletes on Tuesday took part in the taekwondo event of the ongoing National Youth Games as Bayelsa, Osun and Yobe states emerged champions in different categories at the National Stadium,  Abuja.

Laipko Frederick from Bayelsa produced intimidating kicks to defeat Ahmadu Isa from Nasarawa in the final of the male -48kg weight category.

Frederick had earlier dismissed Esakpa Kerry from Rivers to book his final spot with Isa defeating Oluigbo Mathew from Osun in the male -48kg semifinals for athletes between the ages of 14 and 15.

Adegoke Abdullahi from Osun defeated Ekpo Joseph from Akwa Ibom to win the male -55 category in a keenly contested match.

To make it to the final, Abdullahi brushed aside Abubakar Isah from Kaduna, while Joseph overcame Agwu Isaac before picking the final slot.

The male 55kg was won by Bashiru Mohammed who defeated Usman Mohammed from Niger State.

Mohammed had earlier kicked out Ndem Joe-Maria in the semifinals, while Usman defeated Okechi Chima from Abia.

Fifty-nine male athletes took part in the taekwondo event, while 45 contested in the female category.


No Thoughts on Osun, Bayelsa, Yobe Win Taekwondo Event

Leave A Comment