Osun Guber: INEC Accredits 29 Observers

Date Posted: July 30, 2014 at 6:59 am

inec_ballot_boxAs the build-up to the August 9 governorship election in Osun State intensifies, 29 domestic and international observers have been accredited by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

This was disclosed by the chief press secretary to INEC chairman, Kayode Idowu, yesterday, who further stated that the European Union delegation in Nigeria will lead the pack of other international observers to monitor the governorship poll, which will be the second to be conducted by the commission this year.

Other foreign observers include the United States Mission to Nigeria, the High Commission of Canada, the British High Commission as well as the Embassies of Switzerland, Kingdom of Netherlands, Federal Republic of Germany and France.

Among the domestic observers are the Forum for State Independent Electoral Commissions of Nigeria (FOSIECON), the Justice Development and Peace Commission, Nigeria Bar Association Election Working Group, NEPAD Nigeria, Institute for Peace and Conflict Resolution, etc.

The commission further noted that while 20 candidates have been cleared for the election, a total of 1.4 million voters are expected to vote.

Leading the pack of candidates are the incumbent, Rauf Aregbesola of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and Senator Iyola Omisore of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Further breakdown of voter population as unveiled by the commission shows that 745,828 (about 53 per cent) of the eligibe voters are female while 661,394 (about 47 per cent) are male.


No Thoughts on Osun Guber: INEC Accredits 29 Observers

Leave A Comment